• Welcome to The Cave of Dragonflies forums, where the smallest bugs live alongside the strongest dragons.

Guests are not able to post messages or even read certain areas of the forums. Now, that's boring, don't you think? Registration, on the other hand, is simple, completely free of charge, and does not require you to give out any personal information at all. As soon as you register, you can take part in some of the happy fun things at the forums such as posting messages, voting in polls, sending private messages to people and being told that this is where we drink tea and eat cod.

Of course I'm not forcing you to do anything if you don't want to, but seriously, what have you got to lose? Five seconds of your life?

Invisionfree Spambots

Involuntary Twitch

I want the earth to spin in the opposite direction
...And the prevention of such.

See, there's this forum I'm an admin on (this one to be precise, and no I'm not advertising it) is a great forum and all, but for the most vexing issue of spambots. They flood in by the dozens, and so we have the registration set to Admin-approval only. This filters them out from joining, but then we have to delete them, which is a ridiculously tedious process. Also, even though we have only 218 registered members according to the counter, our member numbers are somewhere in the 5000s.

It's a minor nuisance but I was kind of hoping one of you guys knew something to put a stop to it. We're on the queue to be upgraded to Zetaboards, so I hope when the shift happens the bots will stop, but then again I'm not sure and I want to be ready if they do keep coming.

(And if this is in the wrong section, um yeah sorry ^^;)

...And the prevention of such.