The Cave of Dragonflies forums

Go Back   The Cave of Dragonflies forums > Websites > Webmaster Help and Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-10-2014, 02:29 PM
Nira's Avatar
Nira Nira is offline
クタ ララ スタ ララ
 
Join Date: November 1, 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Age: 17
Posts: 2,662
Pronoun: they
Nira is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Nira Send a message via Skype™ to Nira
Default Setting up a Web Server.

Hi. So, I'm setting up a web server (Apache, specifically) because I thought it would be nice to have one in general. Anyway, I've never done this before, so I have no idea what it's asking for; I don't know what my server domain or my name server is. I have no idea how to find them, either; I tried Google, and there was nothing of worth. Can someone help walk me through it? I'm willing to answer questions if needed.

By the way, my host is x10, and my domain is www.mohacastle.com .
__________________
「夢はもういい(おやすみ ハイセ)」
♠ JOHARI WINDOW ♠
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2014, 03:47 PM
Negrek's Avatar
Negrek Negrek is online now
play crack the sky
 
Join Date: July 20, 2008
Location: Lurking
Age: 28
Posts: 5,810
Negrek is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setting up a Web Server.

You're trying to set up a server on your own computer or on your hosting provider's system? Depending on what x10 lets you install, you might be able to do the latter, but it wouldn't make much sense: your hosting account is already a space on their web server; sticking a web server in their web server (so you can... okay, I'll stop) is possible, but I'm not sure why you'd want to do it.

Unless you have some kind of virtual hosting package (I'm just guessing you have a free/inexpensive plan, and virtual hosting usually isn't the cheap kind), in which case okay, you probably are going to need to install your own server. In that case, or if you decide to install one locally, then my first response would be to Google for tutorials, so it would be nice if you could say what you found unhelpful about the ones you've been looking at. I'd be very surprised if your virtual machine weren't Linux, and if you're hoping to install on a local Windows box, be sure to include "Windows" in your search terms because the default assumption is that you're running Linux and indeed you're going to find the results most unhelpful. You might also try Googling tutorials for installing the "LAMP stack," since these are often very step-by-step and aimed at beginners. Just ignore the parts of the tutorial that don't pertain to Apache (the M and P parts, primarily), and you'll be fine.

It would be good to know why you think it would be "nice to have" your own server. You already have space on the internet (since you have a web site); what additional niceness do you think having your own server would afford you?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2014, 04:06 PM
Nira's Avatar
Nira Nira is offline
クタ ララ スタ ララ
 
Join Date: November 1, 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Age: 17
Posts: 2,662
Pronoun: they
Nira is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Nira Send a message via Skype™ to Nira
Default Re: Setting up a Web Server.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Negrek View Post
You're trying to set up a server on your own computer or on your hosting provider's system? Depending on what x10 lets you install, you might be able to do the latter, but it wouldn't make much sense: your hosting account is already a space on their web server; sticking a web server in their web server (so you can... okay, I'll stop) is possible, but I'm not sure why you'd want to do it.
Well, I didn't want to do that specifically... it was just my understanding that this is what you were supposed to do. Basically I want to do all this because I'm trying to configure MediaWiki, and you need a web server for that! Basically I assumed that I would be dealing with my web host, but apparently not. I'm completely new to all this, so it isn't surprising to me that most of my assumptions are... a bit off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Negrek View Post
Unless you have some kind of virtual hosting package (I'm just guessing you have a free/inexpensive plan, and virtual hosting usually isn't the cheap kind), in which case okay, you probably are going to need to install your own server. In that case, or if you decide to install one locally, then my first response would be to Google for tutorials, so it would be nice if you could say what you found unhelpful about the ones you've been looking at. I'd be very surprised if your virtual machine weren't Linux, and if you're hoping to install on a local Windows box, be sure to include "Windows" in your search terms because the default assumption is that you're running Linux and indeed you're going to find the results most unhelpful. You might also try Googling tutorials for installing the "LAMP stack," since these are often very step-by-step and aimed at beginners. Just ignore the parts of the tutorial that don't pertain to Apache (the M and P parts, primarily), and you'll be fine.
Haha yeah, I totally have Windows. I would have Linux, except my parents would probably be really mad if I did, so. I'm sort of stuck. The unhelpful bit is that it's pretty basic and is assuming that I already have some base knowledge about this, which I don't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Negrek View Post
It would be good to know why you think it would be "nice to have" your own server. You already have space on the internet (since you have a web site); what additional niceness do you think having your own server would afford you?
I believe I answered this at the beginning of the post, but just for clarity, I'm trying to configure MediaWiki.

So, you're saying I'd have to get a server of my own, basically? In that case, I have no idea how I would go about doing that-- again, I had assumed Apache itself had that covered, so. I'm a bit clueless, as you can probably tell.
__________________
「私は光栄です, 高槻さん。」
♠ JOHARI WINDOW ♠
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2014, 04:15 PM
Negrek's Avatar
Negrek Negrek is online now
play crack the sky
 
Join Date: July 20, 2008
Location: Lurking
Age: 28
Posts: 5,810
Negrek is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setting up a Web Server.

No, MediaWiki is definitely something that you'd install on your host (if they allow you to install things!). Like I said, your site is already running on a server. The hosting provider you use has install scripts for a lot of different pieces of software, apparently, and I'd be surprised if MediaWiki wasn't one of them. Log into your control panel and see whether it's available there; there should be some kind of autoinstaller where you'll just have to fill in a few fields and click a button and be good to go.

If not, then you can install MediaWiki manually, but this may not be possible on the hosting plan you have. You'll need to e-mail your host's support and ask--in order to do so you'd most likely need SSH access and the permissions to install things, but you can just ask whether you can get MediaWiki on your site and go from there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2014, 04:17 PM
Nira's Avatar
Nira Nira is offline
クタ ララ スタ ララ
 
Join Date: November 1, 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Age: 17
Posts: 2,662
Pronoun: they
Nira is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Nira Send a message via Skype™ to Nira
Default Re: Setting up a Web Server.

Oh, okay! Thank you, that helps a lot.
__________________
「夢はもういい(おやすみ ハイセ)」
♠ JOHARI WINDOW ♠
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Pokémon, Pikachu and all other Pokémon characters © Nintendo, Game Freak and Creatures Inc. The Cave of Dragonflies, content, styles, etc. © Butterfree/Dragonfree/antialiasis.
Forum now hosted by Eevee's HQ.